Subject Guides
Biomedical Engineering
Guide Contents
Tools for Browsing Journals & Finding Full-Text
- BrowZineA platform that allows you to browse for journals by subject. Easy to also browse by a journal issue and provides links to full-text.
- LibKey NomadBrowser extension that provides library full-text links directly on most journal or publisher websites.
- LibKey DOI SearchHave a DOI from a citation? Search by the DOI here to bring up full-text or interlibrary loan request options.
- Need More Help on BrowZine or LibKey?Guide that provides further detail on using all of the tools listed above.
- Adding Get It! to Google ScholarDirections on adding the Libraries' Get It! link to Google Scholar
Recommended Databases
The databases listed below are great resources to search to find peer-reviewed articles and other scholarly sources.
- PubMedFrom the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- Web of ScienceCovers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
- Engineering Village (Compendex)A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database referencing engineering journals and conference materials. Coverage: 1884-present.
- BIOSIS Citation IndexThe world's most comprehensive database on life science research. Includes cited references to primary journal literate, research reports and reviews.
- MEDLINE with Full TextFull text of authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
- EmbaseCovers the most important international biomedical literature with all articles indexed in depth. It includes: over 32 million records, including MEDLINE titles; over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase; over 2.3 million conference abstracts indexed from more than 7,000 conferences dating from 2009; and full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data.
Selected Biomedical Engineering Journals
The journals listed below are a selection of journals that publish peer-reviewed BME research. Searching in them will yield results that are only published within that particular journal.
- Acta BiomaterialiaActa Biomaterialia is an international journal that publishes peer-reviewed original research reports, review papers and communications in the broadly defined field of biomaterials science. The emphasis of the journal is on the relationship between biomaterial structure and function at all length scales.
- Annals of Biomedical EngineeringOfficial journal of the Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES). Scholarly articles focused on multiple areas of biomedical and bioengineering, including bioelectric phenomena, and biomaterial and biomechanics, as well as information systems theory applications.
- Biosensors and BioelectronicsBiosensors & Bioelectronics is the principal international journal devoted to research, design, development and application of biosensors and bioelectronics.
- NanotoxicologyAddresses research relating to the potential for human & environmental exposure, hazard & risk associated with the use & development of nano-structured materials. Available via Academic Search Ultimate (18 month delay). Request recent articles via Inter-Library Loan.
- Nature Biomedical EngineeringStraddling the life sciences, the physical sciences and engineering, the journal publishes biological, medical and engineering advances — technological, translational, methodological or fundamental — that can directly inspire or lead to improvements in human health.
- PLOS (Public Library of Science)Open Access resources covering biology, computational biology, medicine, genetics and other topics. Journal publications include PLOS ONE, PLOS Biology, PLOS Medicine, PLOS Genetics, PLOS Computational Biology, PLOS Pathogens and PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases. Also accessible through the BU catalog.
- Tissue Engineering Part AThe journal provides a fundamental understanding of structure-function relationships in normal and pathologic tissues with the ultimate goal of developing biological substitutes.
Subject Librarian
Aleshia Huber
she/her
Contact:
102F Science Library
hubera@binghamton.edu
hubera@binghamton.edu
(607) 777-4902
Subjects: Engineering & Applied Science
